Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

grassematinee1Sunday mornings, my husband insists on having “la grasse matinee”.  I had never heard of this but he assures me it’s very French and very necessary.  From what I can tell, it’s just sleeping-in but it certainly sounds more luxurious when you say it in French. That’s us having a grasse matinee above. But this post isn’t really about what one does during a grasse matinee but rather what one wears. If you’re going to loll around in bed for hours, you should really dress the part, don’t you think?

When I was pregnant, I started building a mini-trousseau because I didn’t actually have any sleepwear.  I was a panties-only girl for over a decade but with a baby on the way, I thought it was time to start sleeping like a grown up.  I took my time and scoured sites like Rue La La, Faire Frou FrouHautelook and even Amazon and scored pretty fabulous deals.  A trousseau is not built over night – although if you can afford it, shop away!  Several months after my first purchase, I have a pretty decent rotation of sleepwear which includes several nightgowns, a pair of satin pajamas, a silk kimono robe and marabou bunny slippers.  Admittedly, the silk kimono doesn’t get much play these days because we have a nursing baby but everything else is easily washable.  I use lingerie bags and Woolite religiously.  Everything goes in the gentle cycle and hang-dries.

Slipping into a pretty nightgown post-partum did wonders for my self-esteem as I was not so thrilled about exposing my strange, deflated looking stomach.  Now that things are more settled, it’s nice to have a relaxing Sunday morning dressed in a manner that seems more appropriate for family time in bed.

What would you include in your trousseau?
trousseau

Fleur of England Nightgown – Jacques Levine Mules Rosamosario Pajama Pants – Handpainted Kimono – Dessou Playsuit

