Tags

, , , , ,

museum sign

The Great Plains Theatre Conference was a resounding success and a great time was had by all.  I was so delighted at how well Mlle. was handing all the new places and faces that I treated her to a trip to the Joslyn Art Museum.  Also, it was a treat for me too because I have wanted to visit this museum ever since I was a little girl.

It’s a fantastic museum!  Most of the art is on one floor with an impressive permanent collection, temporary exhibits and a contemporary wing.  There is an outdoor sculptural garden and a balcony floor (which I didn’t see as it was under construction).  What I really loved about the Joslyn is that it’s small enough that you don’t feel overwhelmed by all the art you could potentially see.  It’s bite-size, if you will and you don’t fear that you might miss out on something.

My camera died right before I discovered the giant Chihuly sculture in the atrium but I did manage to capture a few shots.

eakins

They have an Eakins and a Sargent!  The Mlle. in the center is from my personal collection!

degas

They have a Degas dancer!  What poise, what grace – we should all look so darling while appreciating art… oh, and the sculpture’s nice too!

fountain 1

What is Mlle. so excited about?

fountain 2

The greatest fountain EVER!

The museum also just received a huge grant and is now free to the public in perpetuity!  Oh, and… they had free lemonade, water and coffee for everyone on a table outside of their cafe!  Putting the needs of the people before making a profit – those are Midwestern values I can get behind.  Hey, Omahaians, you have a great little museum!

